top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadison Fouhse

We are at the end already? // Final Learning Project

Over this past winter semester I have been learning the skill and art of photography online. I had a list of all the things I wanted to learn about photography but quickly realized some of that would have to be modified due to using my Iphone 11 to learn all these skills. I am very proud of the outcome of the photos and editing that I have created over the past couple months and have really fell in love with a new passion.


If you have not been following along with my weekly update blog posts then let me give you a lil recap:


Week one was a planning week! This was the part where I began to plan the types of photos I wanted to learn how to make and also find some fun resources to teach me how to take them. My goal was to learn how to take portrait, action and candid shots. I am happy to say that I was able to learn how to take all three of those by using the IPhone Photography resource that Apple has made available on their website.


Week two will always be some of my favourite photos as well as experience taking photos. This week I focused on capturing my hometown and my childhood home and all they encompass. I didn't exactly focus on one single outcome this week but just started playing around with the different settings on my phone and LightRoom to start feeling out my "style" of photography.


Week three focused on the portrait setting on my Iphone. I learned all about the different lighting settings that were available to choose from and captured the individuals that I work with at Mission Ridge.


Week four was my most challenging weeks as I worked on getting the perfect action shot out at Mission Ridge. This one took forever and really taught me the patience of photography.


Week five we were challenged to showcase our learning project through a different medium and I chose the infamous Tik Tok app. My roommate and I had a little photoshoot in our home and I was absolutely in love with the way they turned out.


Week six I captured a day off in my life and focused on taking all the photos from an above flat angle. This one was very tricky and I learned so much using the apple resource about the steps in which one must take to get a great overhead shot.


Week seven I was beginning to lose a little creativity as it was the start of quarantine and I was feeling stressed and just blah. It only took one little roadtrip to put me back in the spirit of creativity and get a few photos of one of my favourite places; the Qu'appelle valley. This week I had a lot of fun playing around with Lightroom and finding the perfect formula to creating a vintage style photo.


Week eight I take you along my editing process using Lightroom!


 

This process of committing to learning a new skill has been very fun, challenging and rewarding. I am very grateful to have been doing a project along side my classmates as I felt it kept me very accountable to sticking to it. I am excited to continue my photography journey and hopefully in the soon future get a DSLR camera to take my photography to the next level and experiment a little more outside my comfort zone. BUT in the meantime I will be snapping away with my Iphone 11.


In honour of this being the last learning project post here are a few of my favourite pictures from the last 8 weeks!





6 views
bottom of page